The Millbrae Historical Society was founded in 1970 by a group of dedicated residents concerned about the loss of our local historical buildings and resources. Spurred to action by the threatened demolition of the1907 Southern Pacific Depot, the group was galvanized by the razing of the historic Sixteen Mile House formerly located on El Camino Real at Center Street.
In 1985, the Society fulfilled its dream of creating a Millbrae History Museum by arranging for the relocation of the 1895 Spring Valley Water Company manager's house to the Millbrae Civic Center. The building was carefully restored and decorated with period furnishings and filled with historic artifacts. Later the Southern Paciifc Depot was converted to the Millbrae Train Museum. In 2018, the Society unveiled the Carriage House Museum, featuring a vintage 1936 American LaFrance fire engine, a refurbished carriage, and exhibits on the Mills Estate, the early days of the Millbrae Fire Department, cameras and photography, local sports heroes, and vintage Hollywood films.
We invite you to explore our web site and visit our three museums in order to learn more about the history of Millbrae!
For a taste of Millbrae history, please take a look at a video of a virtual Millbrae History Walk.